Take No Revenge

One comment

Take no revenge and cherish no grudge against your fellow countrymen. You shall love your neighbor as yourself. I am the LORD. (Leviticus 19:18)

Today I opened up the My Daily Bread section of my iMissal app in search of a bible verse on which to meditate throughout the day. Out comes this verse from Leviticus.

God, Our Father in heaven, speaks to us in ways, if we are willing to listen, that will undoubtedly get our attention.

Revenge is an evil that is poisonous to our soul and our well being. Revenge flows from a lack of forgiveness and a lack of charity

Forgiveness comes from humility set in our soul by God. Forgiveness is a response to loving thy neighbor.

Having a warrior heart, gifted to me from my youth, my challenge is to know when I must do battle and when to walk away and forgive.

St. Augustine addresses forgiveness and revenge in this quote:

'That your enemies have been created is God's doing; that they hate you and wish to ruin you is their own doing. What should you say about them in your mind? "Lord be merciful to them, forgive them their sins, put the fear of God in them, change them!" You are loving in them not what they are, but what you would have them to become.'

Said so many centuries ago and yet still relevant today. We must place those that hate us in the hands of God. When we/I do peace will invade every corner of our/my soul.

Thank you Father, Son and Holy Spirit for guiding me to a deeper relationship with You and this call to humility.

God is good!

JMJ, pray for us!

Jay

1 comments on “Take No Revenge”

  1. On Fri, Aug 11, 2017 at 7:20 AM HOPE IN THE STORM wrote:

    > Jay Toups posted: “Take no revenge and cherish no grudge against your > fellow countrymen. You shall love your neighbor as yourself. I am the LORD. > (Leviticus 19:18)Today I opened up the My Daily Bread section of my iMissal > app in search of a bible verse on which to meditate ” >

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.