Hope in the Storm

One comment

Hope in the Storm

This time last year I was busily working through the final rewrites and edits of my first book: The Storm: A Time of Mercy, Choices and Hope published by Hope and Life Press (To whom I am no longer affiliated.) To say it has been a whirlwind year would be an understatement.

Getting the book published was, in my humble opinion, a gift from God in countless ways. I wrote the book as a prayer of thanksgiving to Jesus for His unending love and support throughout my life and as a gift of love for my wife and children who complete me and are an inspiration each day of my life.

As life has proceeded, it does appear that The Storm continues to swirl around us at a quickening pace. In the last year we have seen a 1,000 year flood which devastated South Louisiana, one of the most contentious elections in american history, anarchists rioting, continued unrest in the Middle East and rising tensions around the world. 

As Christians we must see these times of  storms as opportunities to grow closer to God with a deep abiding faith.  If we work to do this, each day will proceed as a training ground for the next one to come.

Avoid profane and silly myths. Train yourself for devotion, for, while physical training is of limited value, devotion is valuable in every respect, since it holds a promise of life both for the present and for the future.  (1 Timothy 4:7-8

Although difficult, we must be thankful, even in the midst of storms. Societal storms and personal storms will come and go, but God will always be there for us. He loves us and always wants that which will unite us to Him in heaven. 

During the last year this has become more visible to me than ever before. I am thankful for His love, the love of my wife, children and family. With Him at my side I will joyfully carry my cross towards the finish line.

In this you rejoice, although now for a little while you may have to suffer through various trials, so that the genuineness of your faith, more precious than gold that is perishable even though tested by fire, may prove to be for praise, glory, and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ. Although you have not seen him you love him; even though you do not see him now yet believe in him, you rejoice with an indescribable and glorious joy, as you attain the goal of [your] faith, the salvation of your souls. (1 Peter 1:6-9)

JMJ, pray for us

God is good, 

Jay 

Trailer video – The Storm: A Time of Mercy, Choices and Hope 

1 comments on “Hope in the Storm”

  1. On Fri, Apr 28, 2017 at 4:40 AM HOPE IN THE STORM wrote:

    > jayatoups posted: “Hope in the Storm This time last year I was busily > working through the final rewrites and edits of my first book: The Storm: A > Time of Mercy, Choices and Hope published by Hope and Life Press. To say it > has been a whirlwind year would be an understa” >

    Like

Comments are closed.