Wisdom From The King

One comment

Wisdom From The King 

When I was a very young man I fell in love with reading the Bible.  I turned to scripture in a troubled time in my life. At the time I read it more as a distraction than out of any real interest in faith or religion. I look back on that time and see those struggles as a gift of grace because this is when I began developing a relationship with God.

In its 73 books I found stories of heroic men and women, adventure, war, betrayal, love stories, family life and most of all divinely inspired wisdom. Four heroes in particular have consistently kept my attention over the years. King David, Joshua, Daniel, and Rachel. So much so that I named three of my children after these great Old Testament saints.

I can imagine that Saint Joseph, foster father of Jesus, used the Psalms of King David to give glory to God, as a great source of guidance and to educate his young charge.  In my own life I have found great solace in turning to the Psalms for wisdom, joy and thanksgiving.

As part of a brief conclusion in this week’s short series on dealing with evil, we can look to the wisdom of King David in psalm 101 inspired by our King.

A psalm of David.

I

I sing of mercy and justice;

to you, LORD, I sing praise.

I study the way of integrity;

when will you come to me?

I act with integrity of heart

within my household.

I do not allow into my presence anything base.

I hate wrongdoing;

I will have no part of it.

May the devious heart keep far from me;

the wicked I will not acknowledge.

Whoever slanders a neighbor in secret

I will reduce to silence.

Haughty eyes and arrogant hearts

I cannot endure.

(Psalm 101:1-5)

From this I take away four actions in dealing with evil.

  1. Sing praise to God in all circumstances. He has given us this opportunity to grow closer to Him.
  2. Act with integrity. Your actions should reveal your Christianity.
  3. Have no part of the toxicity. Walk away if you must.
  4. Give this evil to God. He will deal with it in His own way.

I hope and pray you have found this short exploration of dealing with evil personalities in our lives helpful.

JMJ, pray for us.

God is good,

Jay

1 comments on “Wisdom From The King”

  1. On Thu, Apr 27, 2017 at 5:05 AM HOPE IN THE STORM wrote:

    > jayatoups posted: ” Wisdom From The King When I was a very young man I > fell in love with reading the Bible. I turned to scripture in a troubled > time in my life. At the time I read it more as a distraction than out of > any real interest in faith or religion. I l” >

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.